Main Content

2022 Wing Conference and Banquet

2022 WV Wing Conference

 Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place


During the 2022 WV Wing Conference and Banquet, we celebrated 81 years of community service as well as the Mid-Atlantic Region Change of Command. During the conference, we had many educational opportunities followed by an evening banquet. Members were awarded for their achievements during the general session as well as the evening banquet. 

We also had a special event for our attendees during the conference this year. The West Virginia Wing hosted the Mid-Atlantic Region Change of Command. After a very interesting and successful command, Col Bruce Heinlein relinquished his command of the Mid-Atlantic Region to Col Eugene Egry, our new MAR Commander. The West Virginia Wing wishes both Col Heinlein and Col Egry success in their future endeavors.

We were equally excited to have guest speaker Lt Col Justin Chandler, Deptuty Director of the Chief of Space Operation’s Strategic Initiatives Group, Headquarters United States Space Force, Pentagon, District of Columbia. 


2022 WVWG Conference & Banquet Awards

  • Emergency Services Air Support Award – Wheeling Composite Squadron
  • Emergency Services Ground Support Award – Beckley Composite Squadron,  Greenbrier Composite Squadron
  • Maj Gen Jeanne M. Holm CAP Aerospace Officer of the Year – 1st Lt John W. Banks
  • Lt Col Keith Riddle Aircrew Member of the Year – Col Paul G. McCroskey II
  • Cadet of the Year – C/Lt Col Esther Macias
  • Cadet NCO of the Year – C/CMSgt Emily G. Butt
  • John V. “Jack” Sorenson Cadet Programs Officer of the Year – Lt Col Dale A. Olson 
  • Maj Gen Robert Preston Taylor Chaplain of the Year – Maj Paul A. Carmean
  • Character Development Instructor of the Year – 2d Lt Richard S. Cortellini
  • Col David Kantor Operations Officer – Maj Thomas W. Plass
  • Health Services Officer of the Year – Maj Jason A. Hudak
  • Information Technology Officer of the Year - Maj Charles J. Case
  • Outstanding Squadron of the Year – Wheeling Composite Squadron
  • Property Management Officer of the Year - Maj Kathleen J. Dawson
  • Safety Officer of the Year – 1st Lt Zachary A. Cooper
  • Senior Member of the Year – Maj Deborah M. Butler-Case
  • WV Wing Commander’s Special Commendation – Roger Bennett
  • Meritorious Service Awards
    • Col Rodney A. Moore,
    • Col Paul G. McCroskey,
    • Lt Col Eric P. Judy,
    • Lt Col Thomas R. Morris
  • Model Competition Model Aircraft 1st Place – Cadets of Wheeling Composite SQ
  • Cadet Quiz Bowl Competition Airman Category – C/Amn Sam L. Cramlet, Parkersburg Composite SQ
  • Cadet Quiz Bowl Competition NCO Category – C/MSgt Ryland A. Poage, Greenbrier Composite SQ
  • Cadet Quiz Bowl Competition Officer Category – C/Col Alex M. Goodin, Parkersburg Composite SQ
  • Squadron of Merit – Charleston Composite SQ
  • Torch Award – Cadet – C/Col Camden M. Westfall, Parkersburg Composite SQ
  • Torch Award – Senior – 1st Lt John P. Goodin, Parkersburg Composite SQ
  • Spaatz Award – C/Col Alex M. Goodin, Parkersburg Composite SQ
  • Amelia Earhart Award – C/Capt Aimee N. Ballard, Martinsburg Composite SQ
  • Drug Demand Reduction Certificate
    • Calhoun Composite SQ
    • Beckley Composite SQ
    • Elkins Composite SQ
    • MidValley Composite SQ
    • WV Wing
  • Quality Cadet Unit Award
    • Beckley Composite SQ
    • Charleston Composite SQ
    • Parkersburg Composite SQ
    • Wheeling Composite SQ
  • Gill Robb Wilson Award – Maj Jason A. Hudak
  • Longevity Award
    • 20 Year Members
      • Capt David A. Erwin                WV001
      • Capt Donald E. Lyons              WV000
      • SM Matthew E. Muse               WV013
      • Capt Johnny F. Payne               WV038
      • 2d Lt Patrick J. Ryan                WV038
    • 30 Year Members
      • Col Connie S. Moody               WV001
      • Lt Col Richard L. Judy II         WV001
      • Lt Col Virgil L. Martin             WV001
      • Maj Carol M. Martin                WV030
    • 40 Year Members
      • Lt Col Wade H. Augerbright     WV049
      • Capt Lawrence K. Dean            WV020
      • Maj William R. Reid, Jr.            WV038
    • 50 Year Member
      • Col W. Mike Nimmo               WV001
  • WV Wing Health Services Scholarship – C/MSgt Ryland A. Poage, Greenbrier Composite SQ
© 2023 Civil Air Patrol. All rights reserved.